NCTO elects its board members

YarnsandFibers News Bureau 2020-06-22 09:36:56 – USA

The full spectrum of U.S. fabrics from fiber through completed sewn goods, held its officer elections for the financial year 2020 today.

Besides the appointment of a new chairman and vice-chairman, NCTO chosen chairs for each of its four councils. NCTO is comprised of four councils to ensure a wide representation of the market supply chain. Each council has an allotted number of members that are elected to the institution's Board of Directors, as well as the Executive Committee.

"I'm pleased to announce our new officers, council chairs, and board and executive committee members for NCTO's 2020 financial year," explained NCTO President and CEO Kim Glas. "David Roberts, CEO of Cap Yarns, was elected our new chairman and succeeds Leib Oehmig,CEO of Glen Raven Inc., who did an outstanding job serving at the function for more than a year."

"This is a Vital juncture for our business as we continue to navigate through an uncertain business environment this past year. I could not be prouder of our business, which has stepped up and retooled to generate critical personal protective equipment (PPE) for frontline employees fighting the COVID-19 pandemic. With assistance from our recently elected officers, NCTO will keep working on behalf of its own members to shape policies that will help our industry thrive and innovate. Through a committed association staff and a committed group of business leaders, we'll make sure that together we continue to have a chair at the table in Washington."

Elected as NCTO Chairman and Vice Chairman for 2020 are:

  • Chairman -- David Roberts, CEO of Cap Yarns Inc. Roberts is CEO of Cap Yarns, Inc., located in Clover, S.C. Cap Yarns is a specialty yarn manufacturer and also a pioneer in creating special yarns for the knitting and weaving business.
  • Vice-Chairman -- David Poston, president of Palmetto Synthetics LLC Poston is president of Palmetto Synthetics, located in Kingstree, S.C. Palmetto Synthetics is a specialty man-made fiber producer that has provided specialty thermoplastic fibers to companies throughout the globe.
Elected into the NCTO Board of Directors through the various Council meetings will be the following: Fiber Council:
  • Lowell Bivens of PHP Fibers
  • John Freeman of Nan Ya Plastics America
  • Chuck Hall of William Barnet & Son
  • Rich Lemerise of The LYCRA Company
  • Alejandro Sanchez of DAK Americas
  • Chip Stein of Stein Fibers
Yarn Council:
  • Jim Booterbaugh of National Spinning Co..
  • Tom Caudle of Unifi
  • Charles Heilig of Parkdale Mills
  • Peter Iliopoulos of Gildan
  • Marty Moran of Buhler Quality Yarns Corp..
  • Allen Smith of American & Efird
Fabric and Home Furnishings Council :
  • Norman Chapman of Inman Mills
  • Kathie Leonard of Auburn Manufacturing
  • Chad McAllister of Milliken & Company
  • Leib Oehmig of Glen Raven Inc.
  • Dirk Pieper of Sage Automotive Interiors
  • Mike Shelton of Valdese Weavers
Industry Support Council:
  • Cyril Guerin of Picanol
  • Ian Mills of Fi-Tech
  • Gary Romanstine of Marzoli
Elected by their respective Councils to serve on the Executive Committee:
  • Lowell Bivens of PHP Fibers
  • John Freeman of Nan Ya
  • Tom Caudle of Unifi
  • Peter Iliopoulos of Gildan
  • Norman Chapman of Inman Mills
  • Leib Oehmig of Glen Raven Inc..
  • Ian Mills of Fi-Tech
Elected to chair the Councils:
  • Fiber Council: David Poston of Palmetto Synthetics
  • Yarn Council: Marty Moran of Buhler Quality Yarns Corp..
  • Fabric and Home Furnishings Council: Leib Oehmig of Glen Raven Inc..
  • Industry Support Council: Ian Mills of Fi-Tech.
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Market Intelligence

Ask for free sample Report

why us?
21 yrs


Fortune 500

Customer Base


dedicated team


Countries Served Worldwide


Register below to receive our newsletters with latest industry trends and news!

WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
Our support team is here to answer your questions via WhatsApp. Ask us anything!
? Hello